Thu04242014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Arts + Entertainment
Wednesday, 17 October 2007 00:00

A Storm in the Big Easy

Wednesday, 10 October 2007 00:00

An undefined culture gets its own guide

Wednesday, 03 October 2007 00:00

Not such a safe place

Wednesday, 26 September 2007 00:00

Chick lit, chauvinism and modern Ireland

Wednesday, 26 September 2007 00:00

What is wrong with teaching in the US?

Wednesday, 19 September 2007 00:00

Intersection of American minds

Wednesday, 12 September 2007 00:00

Life in the midst of change

Wednesday, 05 September 2007 00:00

A taste for noir

Wednesday, 22 August 2007 00:00

Put your money on Saratoga Fleshpot

Wednesday, 15 August 2007 00:00

Heading Home waffles but New Stories shines

This Must Be the Place

  • This must be the place

    art theplaceMary Harper was quite possibly the first real friend I made when I moved to Western North Carolina.

    With my apartment a few blocks away from the Water’n Hole Bar & Grill in Waynesville, I ventured down there at night trying to see what was up in this town, trying to make some friends, and trying not to feel alone and isolated in a new place where I was unknown to all who surrounded me. Harper, with her million-dollar smile and swagger, immediately made me feel at home. 

    Written on Wednesday, 23 April 2014 00:00 Read more...