Wed04232014

     Subscribe  |  Contact  |  Advertise  |  RSS Feed Other Publications

Arts + Entertainment
Wednesday, 03 March 2010 16:12

A guidebook for raising boys

Wednesday, 03 February 2010 15:01

Fitzgerald comes to life in Asheville

Wednesday, 03 February 2010 15:01

An American original

Wednesday, 20 January 2010 16:12

A tale of both despair and hope

Wednesday, 06 January 2010 15:43

Characters mirror SMN readers

Wednesday, 23 December 2009 13:45

Love and sonnets meet in Shakespeare’s Italy

Wednesday, 09 December 2009 15:13

Of golf, relationships and life

Wednesday, 04 November 2009 20:00

Ivey’s ‘Up River’ offers valuable lessons

Wednesday, 28 October 2009 20:24

A peculiar angst

Wednesday, 14 October 2009 16:04

A memoir about misguided parents

This Must Be the Place

  • This must be the place

    art theplaceMary Harper was quite possibly the first real friend I made when I moved to Western North Carolina.

    With my apartment a few blocks away from the Water’n Hole Bar & Grill in Waynesville, I ventured down there at night trying to see what was up in this town, trying to make some friends, and trying not to feel alone and isolated in a new place where I was unknown to all who surrounded me. Harper, with her million-dollar smile and swagger, immediately made me feel at home. 

    Written on Wednesday, 23 April 2014 00:00 Read more...