Election Day is here

Polls are open across the state and across Western North Carolina for balloting in this year’s municipal election cycle, which features several contests throughout the region that can and will change the composition of some local government boards.

In Haywood County, voters in the Town of Canton can choose from among four candidates – Carl Cortright, Brent Holland, James Markey and Kristina Smith – to replace outgoing Alderwoman Carole Edwards and outgoing Alderman Zeb Smathers, who is running unopposed for mayor. Cortright and Markey are unaffiliated, while Holland and Smith are Democrats.

Maggie Valley voters also have two aldermanic seats to fill from among five choices, but the two incumbents who currently hold those seats would like to keep them; aldermen Clayton Davis and Mike Eveland will attempt to defend their seats from challengers Allen Alsbrooks, Jasay Ketchum and Brooke Powell. Alsbrooks and Eveland are unaffiliated, and the rest are Democrats.

Important elections are also taking place in Bryson City, Dillsboro, Forest Hills and Franklin.

For more information on voting, including voter lookup, polling place information, or to contact the county board of elections in your area, visit www.ncsbe.gov

Go to top