Franklin town board facing no changes

There will be no new faces on Franklin’s town board after November’s elections, no matter which way voters decide to cast their ballots.

That’s because only the current slate of town leaders opted to file for the election.

“I have been the director for 10 years, and in those 10 years I’ve never just had the incumbents file,” said Kim Bishop, director of the Macon County Board of Elections.

This means that Mayor Joe Collins and four aldermen will run unopposed. The aldermen up for election are Verlin Curtis, Bob Scott, Joyce Handley and Farrell Jamison.

Jamison was appointed to fill Alderman Jerry Evans’ post. He died in February. Jamison will, however, run for Scott’s four-year position; Scott will run to complete the two years remaining on Evans’ term.

Go to top