Winners of WCU’s annual Youth Art Month exhibit announced

Budding artists from across Jackson County were recently recognized during the annual Youth Art Month exhibit hosted by Western Carolina University’s School of Art and Design. The exhibit is part of a nationwide recognition of visual arts programs and the role such programs play in the nation’s public schools.

The exhibit featured work from local students — kindergarten through 12th grade — and opened in February. Winners from the exhibit were announced during a public reception earlier this month at the John W. Bardo Fine and Performing Arts Center.

• Blue Ridge School — first place, Kathryn Potts (10th grade); second place, Alexis Hervert-Mezquite (fifth grade); honorable mention, Destiny Ferra-Martin (10th grade).

• Cherokee Elementary School — first place, Naomi Smith (fifth grade); second place, Miss Nipper’s Class (kindergarten); Teacher’s Choice Award, Aidan Wolfe (third grade); honorable mention, Jaelyn Lossiah (third grade), Eva Gagama (first grade), Eeyannah Catolster-Hernandez (fifth grade), Brandon Martinez (third grade) and Ayina Lambert (seventh grade).

• Cullowhee Valley School — first place, Mariana Ramirez (seventh grade); second place, Noah Hinton (sixth grade); Teacher’s Choice Award, Garrett Lindsay (eighth grade); honorable mention, Leslie Folres (second grade), Lucy McRae (sixth grade), Garrett Lindsay (eighth grade), Jessica Carter (eighth grade), Gracie Ruebel (seventh grade) and Brett Aquino-Lopez (fourth grade).

• Jackson County School of Alternatives — first place, Ronnie (10th grade); second place, Sierra (10th grade); Teacher’s Choice Award, Group Paper Design.

• Fairview School — first place, Peyten Wilson (third grade) Stillwell (third grade); honorable mention, Jack Cathcart (second grade) and Sophie Cathcart (fifth grade).

• Scott’s Creek School — first Place, Dayle Joseph (third grade); second place, Samantha Rosario (fifth grade); Teacher’s Choice Award, Jalyn McSpadden (fourth grade); honorable mention, Keria (second grade), Nevaeh Biddle (second grade), Julianna Welch (fifth grade), Lily Lenart (kindergarten), Emma Colindres (fifth grade), Hayes Stewart (second grade), Sebastian Hornbuckle (second grade), Alexis Hopper (seventh grade) and Will Morris (seventh grade).

• Smokey Mountain Elementary School — first place, Elijah Smoker (fifth grade); second place,  sixth grade class; Teacher’s Choice Award, Katelin Pelkey, (eighth grade); honorable mention, Miley Holder (kindergarten), Abby Branning (second grade) and Malia Little (seventh grade).

• Smoky Mountain High School — first place, Taylor Stack (12th grade); second place, Erin Nicholson (12th grade); Teacher’s Choice Award, Morgan Carpenter (9th grade); honorable mention, Marah Stefanisko (12th grade), Darion Powell (12th grade), Hollis Ayling (11th grade), Kendall Rhymer (10th grade) and Briseida Palestine (10th grade).

• Summit Charter School — first place, Peyton Kaylor (first grade); second place, Jacob Hudson (seventh grade); Teacher’s Choice Award, Colin Stoltzfus (seventh grade); honorable mention, Ajani McIntosh (seventh grade).

Submit Your Letter

Go to top