At our inception 20 years ago, we chose to be different. Unlike other news organizations, we made the decision to provide in-depth, regional reporting free to anyone who wanted access to it. We don’t plan to change that model. Support from our readers will help us maintain and strengthen the editorial independence that is crucial to our mission to help make Western North Carolina a better place to call home. If you are able, please support The Smoky Mountain News.

The Smoky Mountain News is a wholly private corporation. Reader contributions support the journalistic mission of SMN to remain independent. Your support of SMN does not constitute a charitable donation. If you have a question about contributing to SMN, please contact us.

Candidates file for Haywood school board race

Up until last week, the nonpartisan races for four school board seats — plus the chairman’s position — looked to be rather sleepy, with only one candidate filling. But as the noon deadline approached on Friday, July 17, a flurry of candidates threw their hats in the ring to ensure some lively contests in the fall. 

Longtime Haywood County Board of Education Chairman Chuck Francis will compete against Daran McAdams of Rhoda Street, in Canton.

Two seats are up in the Beaverdam district, currently occupied by Ronnie Clark and David Burnette. They’re both running for re-election, but are joined in that endeavor by Magnolia Brown Thomas of Reynolds School Road in Canton, Danny Miller of Peaceful Path in Canton, Latausha Forney of Kim’s Cove Road in Canton and Randy McDowell of Dutch Cove Road, also in Canton.

Two Waynesville seats are also up for re-election, although only one incumbent has filed, Jim Harley Francis. Current board member Ann Barrett opted against running again. Three others, all of Waynesville, look to take one or both of those seats — Andy Hall of Sloan Drive, Danya Vanhook of Turn About Court and Logan Nesbitt of April Park.

Look for more coverage of these races in The Smoky Mountain News as the General Election, to be held on Tuesday, Nov. 3, draws closer. 

Go to top