At our inception 20 years ago, we chose to be different. Unlike other news organizations, we made the decision to provide in-depth, regional reporting free to anyone who wanted access to it. We don’t plan to change that model. Support from our readers will help us maintain and strengthen the editorial independence that is crucial to our mission to help make Western North Carolina a better place to call home. If you are able, please support The Smoky Mountain News.

The Smoky Mountain News is a wholly private corporation. Reader contributions support the journalistic mission of SMN to remain independent. Your support of SMN does not constitute a charitable donation. If you have a question about contributing to SMN, please contact us.

Sponsored: Nutrition Q & A

What is tempeh?

Tempeh is a fermented soy product made from whole soy beans and then formed so it can be cut or portioned. Tempeh is high is protein and offers those that are vegan or vegetarian a good way  to get protein. Since tempeh is made from soy beans it is also a good source of fiber, typically about 5 grams of fiber per serving.

Often tempeh is pre-seasoned and has flavors added. You can sear tempeh in a hot pan in a little oil or butter and use it as you would meat in burritos, wraps, sandwiches or to top salads. 

At Ingles Markets you can find locally (Barnardsville NC) made tempeh from Smiling Hara in the PRODUCE section. www.smilingharatempeh.com

Source: www.americastestkitchen.com/guides/vegan/what-is-tempeh

Leah McGrath, RDN, LDN

Ingles Markets Corporate Dietitian

twitter.com/InglesDietitian

facebook.com/LeahMcgrathDietitian

800-334-4936

Receive our FREE Friday Xtra newsletter

More in this category:

Go to top